DSR Houston Qualifying Report

You are currently viewing DSR Houston Qualifying Report

MOPAR Express Lane NHRA SpringNationals Presented by Pennzoil
Event 5 of 24 (Houston)
Houston Raceway Park
Baytown, Texas
April 12-14, 2019

DSR Houston Saturday Highlights:

  • The MD Anderson Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat piloted by Jack Beckman won the MOPAR Express Lane NHRA SpringNationals Presented by Pennzoil ‘Best Appearing Car’ award
  • Ron Capps leads DSR qualifying and will start race day from the No. 2 spot after making the best run of the fourth session
  • Leah Pritchett will start race day from the No. 3 spot after powering the Pennzoil Top Fuel machine to the second quickest run of Q4
  • Beckman and Matt Hagan also qualified in the top-half of the Funny Car field


Driver Information:
Funny Car:

Driver of the Make-A-Wish Foundation Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat

Qualified: No. 11

The Competition: No. 6 Matt Hagan

The Results:
Q1: 8.406 E.T. at 78.26 MPH
Q2: 4.810 E.T. at 168.43 MPH
Q3: 3.987 E.T. at 309.70 MPH
Q4: 3.959 E.T. at 312.13 MPH

“We haven’t been our normal selves in qualifying. We kept fighting it and I think we got back close with our Saturday runs. We’re making progress. We’re just struggling a little bit in the conditions. I’m confident this team will get it figured out tonight and we’ll be much better tomorrow. It’s just been a little bit of a bumpy weekend, but we’ll be okay tomorrow.”

About Don Schumacher Racing:
Don Schumacher Racing (DSR) is the winningest team in NHRA Drag Racing history, having claimed more than 325 NHRA national event titles and 17 world championships since opening its doors in 1998.

Headquartered in Brownsburg, Indiana, DSR fields seven professional teams competing in the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing series. In Top Fuel, the Matco Tools dragster driven by three-time world champion Antron Brown, the MOPAR/Pennzoil/Sparkling Ice dragster driven by Leah Pritchett and eight-time world champion Tony Schumacher’s machine. In Funny Car, the NAPA AUTO PARTS Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat driven by 2016 world champion Ron Capps, the Mopar Express Lane/Pennzoil/Sandvik Coromant Dodge Charger SRT Hellcat piloted by Matt Hagan, and in Terry and Doug Chandler’s ‘giving cars,’ 2012 NHRA world champion Jack Beckman in the Infinite Hero Foundation Dodge, and Tommy Johnson Jr. behind the wheel of the Make-A-Wish Dodge.

DSR also campaigns two Factory Stock Showdown entries. The duo is piloted by Pritchett, the 2018 Factory Stock Showdown Series champion, and former Pro Stock racer Mark Pawuk.

Follow Don Schumacher Racing at Shoeracing.com, on Twitter and Instagram at @shoeracing and Facebook.com/shoeracing.